A Girl and A Planet


Say.. have you ever realized how insignificant your existance is on this planet? I have. It’s something that i couldn’t forget.

During elementary school when I was in sixth grade, the whole family went to watch a baseball game at the stadium. I wasn’t particulary interested in baseball but I was shocked when we got there. There were people everywhere I looked. The ones other side at the stadium looked like squirming grain of rice all packed together. I wondered if every last person in Japan had gathered in this place. And so, I asked my dad: Exactly how many people were in the stadium? His answer was that a sold-out game meant around fifty thousand people. Adter the game, the path to the station was flooded with people. The sight stunned me. So may people around me, yet they only made a fraction of people in Japan. Once I got home, I got a calculator and did the math. We learned that the Japanese population was a hundred million and some in social studies. Divide fifty thousand into that, and you get two-thousand. I was stunned again. Not only I was just a little person in the sea of people in that stadium, but that sea of people was merely drop in the ocean.

I had thought my self to be a special person up until that point. I enjoyed being with my family, and most of all, I thought that my class in my school had the most interesting people in the world. But, that was when I realized it wasn’t like that. The things that happened in what I believe to be the most enjoyable class in the world could be found happening in any school in the world. Everyone in the world would find them to be ordinary occurances. Once I realized this, I suddenly found that my surroundings was begining to lose their color. Brush my teeth and go to sleep at night. Wake up and eat breakfast in the morning. People do those everywhere. When I realized that people did all this things on a daily basis, everything started to feel so boring. And if there were so many people in the world, there had to be someone living an interesting life that wasn’t ordinary. I was sure of it. Why wasn’t that person is me?

That’s all I could think about until I graduated from elementary school. And in the proces, I realized something. Nothing fun will happen if you just sit around waiting. So I figured I would change myself in middle school. Let the world know that I wasn’t a girl content with sitting around and waiting. And I conducted myself accordingly.

But in the end nothing were ever happened.

Quote of :
Suzumiya Haruhi, the president of SOS Brigade.
The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi eps 13th
image: http://bit.ly/g6Xi11

 

  1. Tinggalkan komentar

Tinggalkan Balasan

